Saving Grace

Save Me From Myself

During turbulent times, our first response is determined by where we place our focus. When my focus is inward (on self) or outward (on my circumstances) my natural response is fear and despair. In pity I often ask, “Why, me?” But when I look toward heaven, it brings about a supernatural response that reflects confidence in God. By focusing on God, my “Why” becomes “What?” “What are you teaching me in this storm, Lord, and how can I use what I learn to help others.” – Proverbs 31 Ministries

Yesterday, it wasn’t fear and despair that I experienced when looking outward; it was irritation, anger and frustration. No matter how old we get, it seems we never grow up. People do petty things and the workplace is simply a grown up version of high school. The thing is, I know I’m not above it all. I screw up, I put my foot in my mouth, I do the wrong things, say the wrong things. I fail, I miss the mark. I SIN.

Yep.

Hello, World. It’s me – a Sinner.

THANK YOU, JESUS, for continually saving me from myself. And thank You for reminding me, in the midst of the morass that I can forgive precisely because I am forgiven.

Psalm 121:1-2 I raise my eyes toward the mountains.Where will my help come from? My help comes from the Lord,the maker of heaven and earth.

Standard

Leave a Reply

