Our Adoption Journey

Adoption & Breastfeeding

A few weeks ago I paid a visit to the doctor to inquire about the possibility of inducing lactation so that our baby will have the benefit of breastfeeding. I was very nervous as I made my way to the doctor’s office and had no idea of how I would be perceived or treated. My own doctor was very excited and supportive of the idea, but had no practical experience with such a situation as ours, so she had made this appointment for me with a doctor I had never before spoken to, much less met.

I need not have ever worried. From the moment the sweet nurse whisked me to a room, I was put at ease and felt incredibly encouraged. I never even had to ask, “is this possible?” It was immediately clear that, not only was it possible, but this experienced team was fully confident in the success of such an endeavor. All of the necessary steps to make it happen were explained by the doctor, my questions were answered, the prescriptions were made out, hugs were exchanged and I made my way out the door into a bright, sunny day.

I filled my first prescription that day, started it later in the week, and in the meantime did some research to look up as much information on the drugs I’ll be taking. When I asked the doctor about the drug he was going to prescribe Regnalan if i remember correctly) he admitted there was actually a better drug, one that would be better for the baby, but it would be harder to find – Domperidone. After a week of research, I was surprised to discover a compounding pharmacy right in my own town that could fill my prescription.

I won’t actually need this drug until we have an idea of when we’ll be bringing a baby home. (And at this point we have accepted three referrals, but were not chosen by the Birth Mothers. We are expecting to receive details on another referral later this week.) You see, right now, my body is basically being “primed” by my current prescription (the active pills only in a particular birth control pill). Once I begin the Domperidone, lactation will be induced by the drug AND pumping. Hopefully, we will have enough time to get my body producing what the baby needs, but not so much time that I’m going through the trouble of pumping for “an eternity” before baby arrives. It’s a balancing act.

This will require perseverance and a lot of work, but I believe every child deserves the benefit of breastfeeding and I’ll do everything within my power to give our children that benefit.

And (especially now that I have such a supportive doctor & nurse) thankfully I’m hard-headed enough to not care if the world DOES think I’m crazy for my efforts.

The two of us went to a Breast Is Best class at the hospital last night, and our immediate reception was not the best once it was discovered we are adopting. We were informed that this class was not what we needed as it was “only basics”, would not be covering special issues, and was for mothers at “full production”. I stated that was our goal and my doctor was VERY CONFIDENT. What I wanted to tell her was a few choice words along with “get outta my way, I’m here to learn!” Or, as my dear friend put it – don’t you know I don’t do anything half way?! In any case, I held my temper, bit my tongue, we were accepted into the class, learned much, and the woman ended up being very supportive and encouraging. She even came back later and said she should not have tried to discourage us from taking the class. It ended up being a good experience all the way around.

I know there will be many situations in our future where others will not understand our choices or our path. I’m okay with that. I just hope that I will continue stepping ahead, turning difficult situations into learning, growing experiences for myself, my family, my child. I fully expect I will.. I mean, don’t you know? I don’t do anything half way!!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Adoption & Breastfeeding

Leave a Reply

