Fox Hunting

Think long, think wrong!

image

The weekend before last was hot and windy and should’ve been a blank day, but those Cloudline beauties are on FIRE! It was as wild a hunt as ever, and, yet again, I lost the hunt. I did have company this time, and I learned another way NOT to go. I could pass the blame off and say that I didn’t have the best guidance, but the fact is, when it came down to the critical moment – that point in time where a “not-so-great” fast decision would’ve been better than a great slow decision- I didn’t go with my gut. I might have still gotten left behind had I gone with my first impulse, but I doubt it.

Thankfully, I no longer fear mistakes as I did in my youth. I am learning much from them! In the words of some guy I heard on the radio the other day, “I’ve learned more from my failures than my successes.” The lessons learned are burned deeply into the murky depths of my psyche and shine brightly on the ever developing Cloudline territory map in my mind… right now, big sections of the “map” are still dark and unreadable, but the points of light are getting more numerous and perhaps soon the whole map will shine just as brightly as the Eastern Seaboard at night.

And next time I will have in mind these words of wisdom…

“A good solution applied with vigor now is better than a perfect solution applied ten minutes later.” -General George Patton

“In the words of the ancients, one should make his decisions within the space of seven breaths. Lord Takanobu said, “If discrimination is long, it will spoil. ” Lord Naoshige said, “When matters are done leisurely, seven out of ten will turn out badly. A warrior is a person who does things quickly.” When your mind is going hither and thither, discrimination will never be brought to a conclusion. With an intense, fresh and undelaying spirit, one will make his judgments within the space of seven breaths. It is a matter of being determined and having the spirit to break right through to the other side.” -Hagakure: The Book of the Samurai

Standard

Leave a Reply

