Fox Hunting

A dead lady made me do it!

No, I’m not talking about ghosts or the living dead… and she didn’t actually MAKE me do anything… but she IS the whole inspiration behind starting this blog. Her name was Frances Witts and, in her early twenties, she kept a diary of her fox hunting experiences, which was later illustrated and produced by her daughter.

The Diary of a Cotswold Foxhunting Lady, 1905 – 1910 is a fascinating look into the life of an avid foxhunter in Edwardian England. The doodles throughout are entertaining, and the photographs are an absolute treasure. The diary entries are simple and short, but interesting none-the-less.

I find great significance and power in words. I mean, here we are, 100 years after Frances Witts’ last diary entry, and her words are inspiring a little country girl half-way around the world to share this love of sport through her own journalling. Do I expect to affect others with my own journalling? No, not really. I know there’s a possibility, but it’s not my aim. My purpose is the same as I imagine Ms. Witts’ was – to provide a bit of a memoire for myself to look back and smile upon when age has robbed me of the ability to follow the hounds.

Standard

Leave a Reply

